Alcohol and Driving
Alcohol is a depressant. No, that doesn’t mean that drinking will
make you melancholy. Although we’ve all seen our share of maudlin,
melancholy drunks, alcohol can also make people hyper, giddy and
excited. Read more...
Drugs and Driving
According to California state statutes on impaired driving, you can
be convicted of California DUI even if you haven't had a single drink.
Driving under the influence of drugs is just as illegal as drinking and
driving. Read more...
Everyone knows that drinking and driving is dangerous-and that it's
against the law. How do you know when you've had too much to drink, and
what happens if you make the wrong choice? In California, you are
violating the law if you drive under either of the following
conditions. Read more...
DWI Attorney Directory
California is tough on DWI cases. DWI attorneys are trained to
assist you at every step during this confusing and scary time. If you
have been arrested for DWI, California has many experienced attorneys
ready and waiting to help you with your case. Don’t give up your best
weapon-a professional defense delivered by an experienced California
DWI lawyer. Select a city below to find a DWI attorney in your area. Read more...
If you've been arrested on a California DUI charge, you need to find
a DUI lawyer. Remember, your best defense against a California DUI
charge is not to drink and drive at all. However, failing that, your
second best defense is a good DUI attorney. A California DUI attorney
can help defend you against the charges against you, especially if you
feel that you have been charged for DUI unfairly. A California DUI is a
serious charge, and you'll need the specialized help and advice that
only a legal professional can provide. Read more...
As you can see from the section on penalties above, the costs of a
California DUI are nothing to sneeze at! Fines start at $390 for a
first offense. However, fines are just the beginning of what you'll
have to pay. Read more...
How do you know when you've had enough to drink? That can be a more
difficult question than it seems at first. You may think you know when
you've had enough. But do you? In California, it's illegal to operate a
vehicle if any one of the following conditions is true. Read
Penalties for a California DUI are steep enough to make "normal
life" seem like a distant memory, even if it's only your first offense.
For example, consider the following: if it's your first time being
convicted of a DUI, you can expect. Read more...
Drunk driving is a real problem with tragically real consequences.
People have been drinking since the first fermented beverage was brewed
over 6,000 years ago. Read more...
In California, whenever you sign for your driver’s license, you are
effectively consenting to be tested for alcohol or drugs if the police
request it. What happens if you refuse the test? Well, you’ll be
charged with violating the informed consent law and will still be
charged with California DUI, your license will be suspended for longer
than it would be on a first offense DUI, and you’ll face harsher
penalties if you do get convicted of California DUI. Read more...
Reduce Texas DWI Charges and Fines
In California, the vehicle code clearly states that taking a
defensive driving class cannot be grounds for reducing fines in a DUI
case. However, in some cases prosecutors may accept a plea bargain from
DUI to reckless driving. In those circumstances, a California defensive
driving class could be ordered at the judge's discretion. Read more...
In California, there are several types of sobriety tests that can be
administered to help officers figure out if you are DUI or not. When
the police initially stop you, they are likely to use either field
sobriety tests, passive alcohol sensors or both to try to determine if
you've been drinking and the degree of your impairment. Read