The California Vehicle Code §§1807 and 1808 require the DMV to
record information about your driving history and make it available for
public access for a specified period of time. The length of time
incidents are recorded varies depending on the type of incident. After
the time period is up, the incidents are no longer viewable by the
public and can only be seen by police officers and courts. The DMV
records the following information on your California driving
- The status of your driver's license; whether it is active,
suspended or revoked.
- Any minor violations, such as speeding tickets, that have occurred
within the past 3 years.
- Major violations, such as reckless driving, which happened within
the past 7 years.
- Failure to appear in court for a traffic ticket (FTA), or failure
to pay a fine (FTP) for 5 years, unless the original offense was a DUI.
Failure to appear for a DUI will stay on your driving record for 10
- Any accidents, whether at fault or not at fault, as well as the
approximate amount of damage involved. Accidents are recorded for 3
years from the accident date. However, if the accident occurred in a
commercial vehicle, it will stay on your record for 10 years.
- Convictions for driving under the influence that occurred within
the last 10 years.
- Any suspension or revocation of your driver's license that occurred
due to a mental or physical condition. If your license is still
suspended or revoked, that will show on your California driving record
for 10 years from the date of the last action. However, if you've
gotten everything cleared up, the suspension will only show up on your
MVR for 3 years from the date your license was reinstated.