When you need to get your driving record
Your California driving record, sometimes called an MVR, is a record
of your driving history kept by the California Department of Motor
Vehicles. The DMV records tickets and accidents as well as the status
of your license. Read more...
What’s in your driving record?
The California Vehicle Code §§1807 and 1808 require the DMV to
record information about your driving history and make it available for
public access for a specified period of time. The length of time
incidents are recorded varies depending on the type of incident. After
the time period is up, the incidents are no longer viewable by the
public and can only be seen by police officers and courts. Read more...
Where to get your driving record
You can get a copy of your California driving record from the DMV,
either in person or by mail. To request a copy of your record in
person, go to your local DMV office and fill out form INF 1125. If you
hate waiting in line, you can call your local DMV office and make an
appointment. Make sure to bring the $5 fee to have the record printed.
How your driving record is used
Three entities commonly make decisions that affect your life you
based on what’s on your California driving record: the DMV, insurance
companies, and employers. The DMV uses the information to track your
driving history as part of its Negligent Operator Program. Read more...
Insurance rates and driving records
While the DMV generally won't take any action against you if you
have just one point on your license, your insurance company probably
will. Auto insurance companies use the information contained on your
California driving record to determine your rates-and when they find an
accident or violation on your record, the impact on your premium isn't
How defensive driving and traffic school affects your driving
Every 18 months, the state of California offers you a chance to have
a traffic ticket dismissed from your record by attending a California
defensive driving class, called traffic violator school (TVS). A TVS
class lasts approximately 400 minutes, but of you take the class
instead of paying the fine and pleading guilty to the ticket, the
ticket stays off your California driving record.
The cost to get a copy of your California driving record is just
$5.00, so it's easy to review and see what the state is telling
everyone about you. Read