california.drivinguniversity.com Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online



Reasons to Take the Course

Why would you want to waste a beautiful day in sunny California stuck inside a classroom talking about driving safety? Even if you have a traffic ticket, wouldn't it be easier to just pay the fine and get on with your life? Perhaps. However, in many cases, the state of California gives you the option of dismissing one traffic ticket per 18 months by taking California traffic school. If you pay the fine, you're guilty and the ticket goes on your record. If you take traffic school instead, the ticket it dismissed and does not appear on your driving record at all.

Why should you be concerned about this? Each time you are convicted of a minor traffic violation, it adds a negligent operator driving point to your California driving record. Too many points, and you'll lose your license for at least 6 months. How many points are too many? In California, you are considered "negligent" after:

  • 4 points in 12 months
  • 6 points in 24 months, or
  • 8 points in 36 months.


However, if you attend California traffic school instead, the charge against you will be dismissed and the violation won’t count against you. Also, under the California Vehicle Code Section 1808.7, the fact that the violation happened is confidential, and cannot be disclosed to anyone other than a court. So, your insurance company will not find out about it. Most insurance companies run a motor vehicle report (MVR) on their customers before each renewal. If they find a violation, the amount you pay for insurance is probably going to jump up. Once the ticket is on your record, it stays there and continues to affect how much you'll pay for insurance for the next 3 years. Basically, California defensive driving class is a get out of jail free card that keeps your record clean and keeps you from having to pay higher insurance rates.

In some cases, the court may even order you to attend California traffic school. For example, if you are caught not stopping at a railroad crossing, the judge may order you to take the class instead of just offering it as an option.

Driving University Online Course